Access Keys:

Cookstown High School, Cookstown


At KS 4 level we offer a range of qualifications in ICT, namely:


- Double Award Applied ICT

- Essential Skills ICT (Level 1 & Level 2)


Within this qualification there are both theory and practical modules which are undertaken.  The overall weighting of the course is 60% controlled assessment and 40% theory.  The controlled assessment is comprised of five tasks which include Multimedia Presentation, Spreadsheets, Databases, Web Design and Game Creation.  Within Yr 11 two out of the three periods each week are dedicated to practical activities in one of our computer suites.  Throughout this time students are taught the skills required to complete each of these controlled assessments as well as time being allocated for the actual assessment itself.  In Yr 12, again two out of the three periods are dedicated to the completion of controlled assessment, up until Halloween, at which stage all assessment should be completed.  The theory module which makes up 40% of the course is taught in the other single period and then completed in the three periods after Halloween in Yr 12.  Throughout the theory module many different aspects of ICT are studied as well as emerging technologies.  The GCSE course is a very firm foundation for moving on into further study in ICT or indeed for moving into any aspect in everyday living.

Double Award Applied ICT

This qualification is currently being offered to our Yr 11 students for the first time in many years.  The course breakdown comprises of 3 modules each with an equal weighting of 33.3%.  Module 1 is purely skills based and is assessed at the end of the two years with a 2.5 hr external examination completed on the computer.  Modules 2 and 3 are purely task based, looking at ICT in Organisations and ICT in Society.  The Double Award course is a very firm foundation for moving on into further study in ICT at a vocational level or indeed for moving into any aspect in everyday living.

Essential Skills ICT (Level 1 & Level 2)

Within this qualification all work is skills based with a number of different tasks being completed over the year.  Level 1 is completed in Yr 11 before progressing on to Level 2 in Yr 12.  Tasks in Yr 11 are based around a hobby or interest of the student and Level 2 is based around the work experience completed by the Yr 12 student at the beginning of the school year.  Throughout both Level 1 and 2 various tasks are carried out across a range of different software packages which include Word Processing, Multimedia Presentations, Web Design and Graphics Packages.